IMAG0607

This granola has gone through so many changes!
I think today I got it right, I added the cinnamon for my son, the maple syrup for myself and I was low on dried fruit, so I added some fresh strawberries…can I say – YUM! ?

Here is the original recipe with my changes in parentheses.

Makes about 2 quarts (I eat this in the morning and I just told my family that if they add milk and nook it, it is just like hot oatmeal…I think I will be making this more often, as is I do triple this recipe, it freezes well and I don’t have to panic when I run out in the morning when I am running late).

6 cups of oats

1/2 cup of brown sugar

1 cup of coconut (I leave it out)

1/3 cup of sesame seeds (I use freshly ground flax-seed)

1/4 cup of sunflower seed (if I have it, I put it in, if I don’t, oh well, I also have used pine nuts, almond slivers, broken up cashew nuts…whatever sounds good and is in the pantry)

(I added a generous sprinkle of cinnamon, about 2 tsp)

1/2 cup of raisins (I also use craisins or mix them both, it tastes very good)

Mix all ingredients except raisins. Stir in and coat throroughly with

1/2 cup of oil (today I did 1/4 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of applesauce)

2 tsp vanilla (sometimes I use it, sometimes I don’t)

1/3 cup of honey (today I used maple syrup instead, yummy!)

Spread on cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Last five minutes add one cup of raisin or other dried fruit. (I add my fruit after I take it out, when I have a lot of dried fruit, I add all kinds…when I don’t I leave it plain and add fresh or just eat as is. It is delicious anyway you make it)

It makes good parfait, great after school snack and great hot oatmeal. Easy to make and delicious to eat.

IMAG0606

