IMAG0608-1

Ok, if I have a weakness, it is bread!

I love bread! So I play with it all the time!

Again, I am going to give you the original recipe and what I did to it today in parentheses. I hope that is alright.

It makes 3 regular size loaves or 2 large ones.

6-8 cups of white flour (today I did about 5 whole wheat and 3 1/2 of white, I added more wet stuff, thus, more flour. I also have used all whole wheat or all white, half and half, different grains; just make sure that enough of the flour you are using has enough gluten to make your bread rise or add gluten if necessary)

2 3/4 cups of hot water (I get cold water from the tap and nook it for 2 minutes)

2 Tbsp of yeast (I use the instant kind, so one time letting the bread rise, if you use the non instant, just let it rise twice)

3 Tbsp of sugar (I forever have used 1 very full Tbsp of honey)

3 Tbsp of oil

1 Tbsp of salt

(Today I also added 1/3 cup of ground flax-seed mixed in 3/4 cup of water, this is a great egg substitute, of that mixture if you want to measure as an egg substitute, each 1/4 cup = 1 egg. And I added 1 tsp of chia seed)

Ok, ready for the directions?

Here you go, put 3 cups of flour into your machine or bowl if you are doing it by hand. Add the yeast and mix it with the flour. Then add the hot water and mix it. It will be a wet gooey looking thing, let it sit for 10 minutes ( people who say they can’t make bread, this recipe is for you. You won’t kill the yeast and you will definitely activate it).

Then add the rest of the wet ingredients, mix it and start adding flour. In a machine, knead for 5 minutes after all the flour is in, by hand, knead it for 10 (the consistency is a little sticky to touch, however it doesn’t leave any dough on your hands to touch it). If you are not using the instant yeast, let it rise until double, knead it again for 5 minutes by machine and 10 by hand. After kneading and letting it rise (about 30-45 minutes), spray your bread pans and make the dough into loaves. In a bread class I took centuries ago, I’ve learned to spank the top of the loaf, so the gluten breaks down and your loaf raises evenly, not very tall in the middle. Let it rise until double and bake it at 350 for 35 minutes.

When you take it out of the oven, take it out of the pan and brush it with butter. Wait for 5 minutes…if you can…to cut it. I have seen my kids eat 2 loaves gone in 10 minutes because it was out of the oven when they were around.

Enjoy!

