This year I develop a new hobby, hiking. It has been a slow journey, however it has been fantastic! So, slow and fantastic go together, I think.

I have a friend that introduced me to this hill. It took 3 pics to show the size of the thing. She calls it the “Bun Burning Hill.” No explanation necessary after you see the pictures.

Last week I took another friend to the hill and she challenged me to go at it without stopping. A month ago, I used to take 3 breaks on the climb, then 2 and last week I was at 1. After the challenge last week,  I made it to the top of the hill without taking a break! Yay me! I thought I was doing great!

I shared my victory with the friend that introduced me to the hill, she congratulated me and said that I needed to do it again! Today! So I went hiking with her, she does a light jog up the hill, I…walk slowly with my walking sticks. Well, ThomaLee (that’s her name) had funny ideas cooking up in her head.

We did it 3x without stopping. I told her I was done (I had arrived at the spot where the body says, “ok, this was fun, time to quit”). She said,”Really? I got a 5 in me” with a big smile on her face.

That made me stop and ask myself, “Are you REALLY done or is this just the spot where we stop because we are getting tired?” I amazed myself with the answer that it was the spot where we are getting tired.

So, telling myself in my thinking, all the way up and down, “I can and I am climbing this bum burning hill all the way to the top” we made it 5x without stopping!

I can, I am and I did it! 

So, when you think it is rough, when you want to quit, ask yourself, “Do I want to quit because I gave my all and I have nothing left or is it because this is as far as I’ve ever been and I don’t know what is beyond this point?”

If the answer is the second one, go on, be strong, you got this!

The bottom of this picture is the bottom of the hill.

This is the middle of the beast. And the picture bellow is the top.

